First, We Give of Ourselves workshops

First, We Give of Ourselves is a three-year stewardship response program designed for congregations that wish to help members grow in their understanding of stewardship, a spiritual and discipleship practice.

Congregations that began in 2014 are invited to a Year Two Introduction workshop. Invite your steward leaders to attend and bring your First, We Give of Ourselves book. Additional workshop resources will be available at the meeting.

Congregations that have not yet begun are invited to a Year One Introduction workshop.

Please register for one of these workshops by emailing Nancy Corey. State which workshop you will attend and the number of people attending from your congregation.

The theme verse for this program is found in 2 Corinthians 8:5. The Apostle Paul in describing the generosity of the Macedonian Christians says: “… and this, not merely as we expected, they gave themselves first to the Lord…”

It is the hope that this program can help congregations repackage the discussion of stewardship, from one that understands stewardship simply as a fund raising activity to fulfill a budget, to one that is centered in and through God’s abundant grace in Christ.

This program has three themes which seek to move the conversation of stewardship from bill paying to gift sharing, from scarcity to abundance. These yearly themes are “Giving in Grace”, “Giving in Gratitude”, and “Giving in Generosity”.

First, We Give of Ourselves
Workshops and Dates

Date

Location

Time

Registration Due

Year One Introduction

 
Saturday, March 14 CRE Wednesday, February 25
Thursday, April 23 St. Paul, Orion 7:00-8:30 p.m. Friday, April 17
**Canceled**
Thursday, April 30
Faith, Joliet 7:00-8:30 p.m. Friday, April 24
Saturday, May 2 Faith, Rochelle 10:00a-Noon Monday, April 27

Year Two Introduction

Tuesday, May 5 First, Freeport 7:00-8:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 29
Thursday, May 7 St. Paul, Sterling 7:00-8:30 p.m. Friday, May 1
Tuesday, May 12 Resurrection, Channahon 7:00-8:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 6
Thursday, May 14 Christ, Belvidere 7:00-8:30 p.m. Friday, May 8
Tuesday, May 19 St. Paul, Orion 7:00-8:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 13
Tuesday, May 26 St. Matthew, Princeton 7:00-8:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 20

 

Invite your steward leaders to attend a workshop and bring your First, We Give of Ourselves book. Additional workshop resources will be available at the meeting. Please register by emailing Nancy Corey, ncorey@nisynod.org. State which workshop you are planning to attend and the number of people attending from your congregation. See registration deadlines above for Year One Planning and Year Two Planning workshops.

Thanks for your help and interest.

Blessings in your ministry!
Pastor Kurt Nordby