The NIS is split into eight geographical conferences. The purpose of such groupings is to foster interdependent relationships for missional purposes among congregations, synods, the churchwide organization, and other affiliates. A Dean is elected by each conference. Some conferences also elect Secretaries and Treasurers.

Conferences have monthly ministerium meetings. Conferences are responsible for nominating two members to the Nominating Commitee and a voting member to the Churchwide Assembly of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.